William Christie 2018 7580 Julien Gazeau

Music publishing


Directed by William Christie, the “Les Arts Florissants” collection from Les Éditions des Abbesses is making hitherto unpublished early music works, both sacred and secular and central to the ensemble’s repertoire, available to amateurs and professionnals alike.

The originality of this collection lays in its editorial criteria: faithfulness to the original sources as well as to the basic principles of period notation.

Launched in 2004, this collection today comprises 11 titles

French operatic music :

  • Marc-Antoine Charpentier
    Actéon changé en biche
    La Descente d’Orphée aux Enfers
    Les Arts florissants 
    Les plaisirs de Versailles

  • Jean-Baptiste Lully

  • Michel Lambert
    Les Airs de Michel Lambert (coming soon)

French sacred music :

  • Jean-Joseph Cassanéa de Mondonville
    Dominus regnavit
    In exitu Israel
    Magnus Dominus

Illustrated booklet :

  • Actéon l'indiscret chasseur (Marc-Antoine Charpentier) 
The scholarly edition of all the volumes in the “Les Arts Florissants” collection is overseen by a committee chaired by William Christie and Fannie Vernaz and made up of specialists, musicians, musicologists, translators and editors (John Powell, Sébastien Daucé, Catherine Massip, Benoît Hartoin, Pascal Duc etc.). 
The honorary committee of the collection comprises H. Wiley Hitchcock †, Andrew Parmley and Dominique Visse. 
The first six volumes of this collection were published between 2004 and 2010 with the support of the Fondation Louis D. of the Institut de France. 

For further information, or to buy scores or booklets : 

Éditions des Abbesses
71, rue Boursault
75017 Paris - France
Tél. : 01 44 85 05 10 / 06 12 32 34 34